Something Old, Something New

Back when the days were long and the evenings were light, when Scotland was warm (no, really) and the sun shone down on the River Tay, the City of Glasgow Chorus spent a weekend locked in the Caird Hall. Never has the Greggs on Dundee High Street done such a roaring trade in cups of tea.

Screen Shot 2014-11-25 at 23.06.01

The result of those two days is the new CD, Something Old, Something New, which is available now for postal ordering from the Chorus website for £10. If you know a Chorus member, it can also be got from us with less hassle and no P&P charge.

The playlist includes the Charles Parry I Was Glad, choruses from the Faure Requiem and Mendelssohn Elijah, Howard Goodall’s setting of Psalm 23 (from The Vicar of Dibley), the Vivaldi Gloria, and the Bogoroditse Devo from the Rachmaninov Vespers.

It is very good music, with a very good choir (and I’m biased and I don’t care) and a magnificent organ. I heard this in its finished form a couple of weeks ago and then parts of it again when I was driving home tonight. I’m very proud of the work that went into it by all of us, and of the quality of the end product.

Everyone likes a nice CD for Christmas.

6 comments

  1. Okay, why take the “City of Glasgow” Chorus to Dundee? Even for the weekend? Nowhere in Weegieville that would tolerate you?

  2. Oh, good; I was hoping someone would give me a heads up when this was ready.
    I’d like one, of course… if you’ve a mind to let me send you American money. ☺

Leave A Comment

