Tales From Pride

I Love Martha Jones

As we made our slow way back to where I had abandoned the car, laden with placards and banner and toddler, I was stopped by a gentleman asking whether we were going to a protest.

“No!” I said. “It was Gay Pride!”

He read the text of one of my by now quite soggy placards.

St Mary’s Cathedral: Open, Inclusive, Welcoming

“And, erm, were you protesting it?” he asked, looking hopeful.

“Of course not,” sayeth I. “We’ve been suppporting it.” And, pulling out one of the lines that I’d been using on people all morning when I’d worried that they might think that I was trying to save them, “We’re the good kind of church!”

He didn’t like that at all.

It’s true, though.

And don’t forget about this:

Screen Shot 2014-07-19 at 14.01.12

 

5 comments

    • A thousand small business cards with church service times and details of the Peter Tatchell lecture. I was dashing up and down the parade route handing them out, completely buzzed.

    • Indeed, and the design is based on a Stonewall campaign. (“Some people are gay, get over it.”) It was a Christmas gift from two excellent friends who know me *very* well.


Leave A Comment

