On This Night

I will walk in the wind
to meet you, Jesus;
to let you wash my feet.
I don’t want to.
I would rather stay here in the warm,
away from your towels and your water
and offers of forgiveness.
For I know what you mean,
what you ask,
what you give.

But I will come,
for I cannot stay here alone,
and I cannot run elsewhere,
for I know that you are waiting,
welcoming,
and I know that only you
can heal me and hold me.

So I will come
with empty hands to your supper,
empty hands and dirty feet.
I will come as your guest
and with water, bread, and wine
you will make me whole
and set me free to serve you.

Ruth Burgess, taken from Eggs and Ashes.

Leave A Comment

