Wishlist for 2014

These are not resolutions in the proper sense, partly because I think that if I were to make a New Year’s resolution in the proper sense, it would look something like “fail slightly less at functioning as an adult person”, and I am probably not alone in that.

However, in 2014, I hope…

  1. To continue having gainful employment in this job that I love in this city that I love.
  2. That the Commonwealth Games will make everyone else in the world see why I love it.
  3. To see the continued passage of equal marriage through the Scottish Parliament, and to see the first same-sex marriages in England and Wales.
  4. To run the Great North Run again, a bit quicker and with a bit more proper training and this time to raise money for Kidney Research UK.
  5. To make more time to read more.
  6. That we will end the year as we began it, with Scotland in full communion (if you will) as part of the United Kingdom. #bettertogether
  7. To pass my blasted exam at some point, be that in two weeks or four months or eight months.

And, although these are still not resolutions in the proper sense, being more political than that, I also resolve:

  1. To make quite a lot of noise about marriage equality at the 2014 General Synod of the Scottish Episcopal Church.
  2. To continue to work for the good and the best interests of all my patients, no matter who they are or where they come from, in accordance with the founding principles of the National Health Service and with an oath that I swore one rainy day in July. (Screw you, Jeremy Hunt.)
One comment

Leave A Comment

