Toto…

Yesterday, I had a job where I knew everyone’s name, I could find everything on my ward with my eyes shut, I had a hospital telephone directory inside my head, I understood how to work all the computer systems and which bit of the photocopier you have to kick to make it work again, and I knew what I was meant to do when I was on call.

Today, I don’t know where anything is or how anything works, I have to ring a taxi if I need out-of-hours bloods, and I am studiously avoiding introducing myself as the SHO.

I think maybe I’m not in Kansas anymore.

Leave A Comment

