Final Thoughts

In the days when I was younger and more foolish, I did the late night study sessions. Indeed, I did an all-night study session before one of my undergraduate histology exams. I remember very little about that, but I’m reliably told by a good friend that I was so high on caffeine and sleep deprivation, I needed to be scraped off the ceiling before I could go into the exam room. Also, I got 31% in it. I don’t do that anymore. Besides, I am older now and wiser, perhaps, and I’ve grown to have an unshakeable faith in the magical properties of my duvet and the restorative powers of a good night’s sleep. So, instead of burning the midnight oil, I’m heading home in a couple of hours for dinner and what has become my pre-exam night ritual of watching Series 3 of Doctor Who. I find that there is something terribly reassuring about watching a medical student save the Earth from aliens.

I have done, probably, everything that I can do, by now.

Five years.

And it all comes down to this.

For the last few days, I’ve had a verse from Hebrews rattling around in my mind: “Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us throw off every weight and the sin that clings so closely, and let us run with perseverance the race that is set before us.”

In other words, let’s go and kick some ass.

Leave A Comment

