Does That Come With Tights and a Cape?

In their infinite wisdom, the university administration have replaced their perfectly functional website with something that flat out does not work. It doesn’t recognise legitimate funding bodies, it doesn’t let Disability Services do a number of the things that they need to do in order to provide their service, and I know no English final years who have been able to register on it and we have (as I pointed out rather acerbically to the staff member in the Registry who chirruped at me that, “oh, but the academic year doesn’t start until next week!”) been back on rotations for a fortnight. The whole thing is utterly ridiculous and I make no defence of it at all.

But with that said, I don’t expect it to have magical capabilities.

This week, I found myself sitting behind a desk at the open day for prospective students and I was approached by a young man who introduced himself as a first year medical student. I started to tell him that I was giving information to people who hadn’t yet applied and that I would therefore probably not be of much use, but I was interrupted.

The moral of this story is that I do not have the power to make the registration requirements go away. If I could, I’d have done it weeks ago.

New Student: I haven’t been able to register on MyCampus.
Beth: Yeah, you and me both. Have you asked at the office?
New Student: Yes, they said I should wait until my health screening and I’ll be registered after that.
Beth: Er, OK…
New Student: But it won’t let me register.
Beth: [thinking that she must surely be missing an essential part of this conversation] OK, have you tried asking at the Registry?
New Student: Yes, they said that I’ve done all I need to and I’ll be registered on the system after my health screening. What do you think I should do?
Beth: I think you should wait until your health screening.

Leave A Comment

