Saying Goodbye

In a couple of hours, I’ll be at Mwanza Airport. In some ways it feels like I’ve been here forever and in others like I only arrived there a few days ago.

I don’t know what I expected from Tanzania. A medical elective? An opportunity to go somewhere I hadn’t been before? A lifetime’s worth of stories to tell at dinner parties? Well, I’ve had all of those things — although by now you know that many of my stories are hardly dinner party material. But whatever I might have expected, I’m going home with far more than that. I’ve come to love this country and her people, and this beautiful, broken continent. I’ve made memories here and I’ve made friends. I’ll be back, one day. I don’t know what I expected from Tanzania, but it has taken hold of a little piece of my soul and we have had the very very best of times.

God bless Africa,
Guard her children,
Guide her leaders,
And give her peace.

One comment


Leave A Comment

