Skip to content

When I Grow Up

It is fifteen years since I decided that I wanted to be a doctor when I grew up.

This was my dad’s fault. I am certain that, along with my grandfather, he is tonight quite quite drunk on the best alcohol that Paradise has to offer, and so I feel that he oughtn’t to be too upset about being blamed for this particular decision.

It has been eight years since the first time I was interviewed for a place at medical school, seventeen years old and invincible, and nearly nine years since I took my A-levels and learned that I would not be going to medical school but instead to read for a degree that I didn’t want to do at a university that I didn’t want to go to. On that day, my invincibility crashed down around me and I have been a better person for it. It is six years since I graduated from Durham, with a good degree and better friends and an unshakeable belief, after everything, that things had worked out the way that they should have, and six years since I embarked on a year of working in the interminable and soul-destroying gap year job that taught me everything nobody ever wanted to know about bus timetables.

Last Thursday marked five years to the day since I opened up UCAS Track at 7am and saw that I had been made an unconditional offer to study medicine at the University of Glasgow.

Today, my dreams all came true.

A new chapter begins.

And the hard work starts now.

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. You will now have to rewrite your “About Me” section. No longer a final year medical student. In fact this particular entry could form the basis of your revised “About Me”

    March 21, 2012
    • I will do, but, as I haven’t graduated and I’m not GMC registered and have another six weeks of being in hospitals as a medical student (both technically and in terms of my actual usefulness) and am altogether existing in this strange No Man’s Land between medical student-ness and doctor-ness, I am not rewriting it just yet.

      March 22, 2012
  2. Janice Blythe #

    And damn proud we all are of you too xxxx
    Aunty J and Uncle D (and the kiddy winks and the Grandma)

    March 21, 2012
  3. Mary-Cate #

    Oh Beth I could not be happier for you and for the world of medicine which will be so much better for your glorious, intelligent, creative and compassionate self! I am doing a big fat happy dance here in TO! So, so happy for you. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

    March 21, 2012
    • Thank you, MC. I had checked out the fastest route to Toronto, just in case I’d needed that Plan Z…

      March 22, 2012
  4. We’re all deeply proud and joyous for you — but just as much proud that someone of whom we think so highly will be seeing after our health. Congratulations, and thank you!

    March 21, 2012
    • No, no. Thank you. I don’t think any of you in that building realise how much you have all contributed to keeping my sanity more or less sane during the last five years, and I am so so so proud to know you all.

      March 22, 2012
  5. rosemaryhannah #

    It is wonderful news.

    Just a bit of a loss to the world of literature though … but worth it,because in the end, and just being selfish you understand, I need a good doctor more than a good book or a goodsit-com.

    March 21, 2012
    • Well, there’s always retirement for those things. :) It gives me more time to collect material for the sitcom, in any case.

      March 22, 2012
  6. But surely the writing will continue??

    Congratulations again.

    March 21, 2012
    • I expect that the writing will always continue, Kimberly. I certainly have no plans to give it up.

      March 21, 2012
  7. Congratulations again! And good for you for sticking it out and getting it done!

    March 22, 2012
    • I think I reached a point of no return… But, really, no regrets, ever. It took freaking FOREVER, but I do truly believe that this was how it was all supposed to turn out.

      March 26, 2012
  8. Irene Ballantine #

    Congratulations!

    March 23, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 2012 in Review | The Road Less Travelled

Leave A Comment

